Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, along with Wells Fargo and in conjunction with the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl, is proud to present the Mr. Texas Football Player of the Week award to the most deserving high schooler in the state of Texas.

Every Monday at noon, will announce ten candidates for that week’s award, based on the previous week’s on-field performance. Voting will close at noon each Friday, with the winner being announced shortly afterward.

Bremond High School quarterback Roshauud Paul was 2016’s Mr. Texas Football, which recognizes the High School Player of the Year in the state of Texas. The honor, is awarded in collaboration with Dave Campbell’s Texas Football and was voted on by fans, players and coaches throughout the state.

Paul, a 6’0”, 170-pound dual-threat quarterback led the Bremond Fighting Tigers to an undefeated and unforgettable season. This year alone the stellar quarterback has accounted for more than 2,000 yards passing, more than 2,000 yards rushing and scored a total of 68 touchdowns. After leading the Tigers to two consecutive state championships and being named Offensive MVP in both games, Paul is looking to win his third later this month and finish with a 47-0 record in his high school career.

In addition to being named Mr. Texas Football, Paul was awarded the Built Ford Tough Texas High School Football Player of the Week by Jason Ehlers of Glover Ford last month. Paul will continue his football career at Texas A&M when he joins the Aggies at the wide receiver position next season.

Past winners of the award include former NFL quarterback and 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), star Texas running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated) and former Oakland Raiders quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Texas Tech quarterback Jett Duffey took home the award in 2015.

The Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year is selected at the conclusion of the high school football season, based on votes cast throughout the season as well as editorial staff consideration. The votes were tabulated by Dave Campbell’s Texas Football.

Presented by

© 2017 ESPN Internet Ventures. Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.